

April 3, 2023

Mr. Albert Schmidt, Acting Secretary of State Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 302 North Office Building, 411 North Street Harrisburg, PA 17120-0500

Dear Acting Secretary Schmidt:

The published date for the upcoming Presidential Primary Election is *Tuesday, April 23, 2024*. This is also the first day of Passover, a major religious holiday for those of the Jewish faith. As you might know, observant Jewish voters refrain from work and their regular activities to observe this religious holiday. This would include activities such as voting in person.

As Co-Chairs of the newly formed Jewish Legislative Caucus we are very concerned about limiting the opportunity for Jewish citizens to exercise their right to vote in the Presidential Primary. We have been contacted by citizens and members of the Caucus who are equally concerned. While we recognize that the scheduling of the primary election on a religious holiday may not have been intentional, we, as legislators and you in your capacity as Secretary of State, must be cognizant of the need to accommodate all voters.

We respectfully request that you and your staff develop a plan to ensure that Jewish voters are fully aware of the conflict that arises with the date of the **2024 Presidential Primary Election**. The preferred course of action would be to reschedule the date. However, if this is not possible, we need to explore every option to allow voters of the Jewish faith to vote. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you as soon as possible. Thank you for your consideration

Sincerely,

Dan Frankel Representative—23rd District Co-Chair Jewish Legislative Caucus

Judith L. Ochwank

Judith L. Schwank Senator—11th District Co-Chair Jewish Legislative Caucus



amanal Madasellar

Amanda Cappelletti Senator—17th District

Caroly T. Comitta

Carolyn Comitta Senator—19th District

Steven Santarsiero Senator—10th District

Aisa a. Borawski

Lisa Borowski Representative—168th District

Tim Bruge

Tim Briggs Representative—149th District

Robert L. Freeme

Robert Freeman Representative —136th District

Mai Cea

Maria Collett Senator—12th District

Joy loston

Jay Costa Senator—42nd District

tinday M. Williams

Lindsey Williams Senator—38th District

Tim Brennan Representative—29th District

Justin C. Hering

Justin Fleming Representative—105th District

Tarik Khan Representative—194th District



Dan Miller Representative —42nd District

Bym V. Sny

Ben Sanchez Representative —153rd District

Melissa Shusterman Representative —157th District

lh.

Ben Waxman Representative—182nd District

Abigail Salisbury Representative—34th District

Mike Schlossberg Representative—132nd District

Jared Solomon Representative—202nd District

byld.€

Joseph Webster Representative—150th District